The voice of British Horology

Member login Contact us

Upcoming short courses

At a glance

The BHI offers a comprehensive portfolio of short courses designed to start or develop your skills. Below you will find a quick overview of the courses that have been scheduled for the next few months. You will find much more information on these courses here and by reading our prospectus.

If you have any specific questions about the contents, costs, dates and times of these courses, or if you would like to make a booking, please contact Zanna Perry, +44 (0)1636 817603 or email

Book your course place now

Monday, 12 October 2015 – Friday, 16 October 2015

Basic Mechanical Watch
John Murphy FBHI

Monday, 2 November 2015 – Friday, 6 November 2015

Turret Clocks
Chris McKay FBHI

This five-day course is for people interested in turret clocks. For example, professional clockmakers who want to repair these clocks, collectors and church advisors.

For this course you need to have a general knowledge of clocks and repair techniques, plus the ability to use common machine tools, pillar drill and lathe.

You learn how to do basic work on turret clocks and assess the need for advanced work. You inspect a turret clock and diagnose faults. You look at dismantling, cleaning, basic repairing and reassembling.

You practise dismantling and re-assembling, bushing a bearing in different frame types, making a suspension spring, putting on a new line, using cleaning solvents and abrasive techniques, letting down a weight, dismantling and re-assembling hands and motion work and dial restoration with gold leaf.

You can bring photos of turret clocks for discussion and small movements or parts.

Monday, 9 November 2015 – Friday, 13 November 2015

John Murphy FBHI

Saturday, 21 November 2015 – Sunday, 22 November 2015

Service & Repair Platform Escapements Parts 1 & 2

Saturday, 28 November 2015 – Sunday, 29 November 2015

Service & Repair Platform Escapements Parts 3 & 4

Monday, 30 November 2015 – Friday, 4 December 2015

Basic Clocks I
John Reynolds FBHI

Monday, 7 December 2015 – Friday, 11 December 2015

Basic Mechanical Watch
John Murphy FBHI

Friday, 4 March 2016 – Sunday, 6 March 2016

Basic Quartz Watches
Mervyn Selley FBHI

Monday, 7 March 2016 – Friday, 11 March 2016

Basic Clocks I
Robert Egan FBHI

Saturday, 12 March 2016 – Sunday, 13 March 2016

Examination Practice: Unit D4
John Murphy FBHI

Monday, 14 March 2016 – Friday, 18 March 2016

Basic Mechanical Watch
John Murphy FBHI

How to make, repair, restore and service clocks, watches and other timepieces

We have a new education and training prospectus.

Find out more information